Skip to content

Blackberry and Plaxo:

April 23, 2005

I got a new toy yesterday – a BlackBerry 7290 PDA. It’s a pretty fun gizmo, and the fact that it runs J2ME is icing on the cake. It comes with desktop software (Windows only :-() that syncs your PDA data with other PIMS such Outlook, Lotus etc. For a company that does such a great job of supporting Java, it’s a shame they don’t use Java on the desktop to provide x-platform sync.

The Blackberry service also comes with a bundled online email (BlackBerry Web Client) that will gather up mail from several sources (POP and IMAP) and forward to your BlackBerry.

It’s a neat service – but I can’t help but think that RIM has missed a golden opportunity to enhance the “stickiness” of the BlackBerry. What I really want is the equivalent of Plaxo for the BlackBerry (or alternatively, I want Plaxo to support online wireless sync of my PDA). The thing is, I don’t want to manage my contacts on my desktop – because my “desktop” moves around a lot (SunRay, laoptop, home PC, etc.). I want my contacts online all the time, accessible from everywhere, and safely backed up.

RIM and Plaxo would make great partners.

4 Comments
  1. michael permalink
    February 8, 2006 9:24 pm

    hi warren, i just did a search for “blackberry sync plaxo” because i am looking for what you describe in this post…i’d certainly pay for a reasonable solution. have you found anything?

  2. Andy Rogers permalink
    June 21, 2006 6:45 am

    I’m looking for a solution that allows me to sync my Blackberry via a Sunray to the Blackberry software sitting on one of our Windows 2003 terminal servers. I cant seem to get this to work, any ideas?? Anyone seen a solution that works??

  3. AKB permalink
    May 2, 2007 1:13 pm

    I’m looking for the same thing? Plaxo has some mobile sync function but no luck there for blackberry.
    I just want to use any PC as my home PC, pulling my calander and contacts, and syncing with any pc my blackberry to update the too. Always having my information online.

  4. Roland Davis permalink
    May 27, 2009 11:25 am

    Warren, Do you have your iCal on your Mac syncing to Google Cal and then using NotifyLink to sync to your Blackberry?

Comments are closed.

