Skip to content

R.E.M. concert

November 18, 2004

Went to see R.E.M. last night. Probably my 2nd favorite band after the Hip 🙂

Sorry – no cameras allowed, so I didnt get any pics.

It’s my first R.E.M. concert – and I have to say they put on an incredible show. They played the Calgary Saddledome (I am not sure the capacity – maybe 20000 seats?). They had the crowd on their feet, with everyone singing along belting out “yeah yeah yeah” (Man on the Moon song). It gave us all a chance to engage our collective rock star voices.

Stipe is a real showman who really knows how to work the crowd. The only drawback is they didn’t have a jumbo tron – so things looked kind small (we had pretty good seats – but if you were in the back I dont think you would see much). The acoustics in the saddledome are surprisingly good. I think most bands have figured out that you don’t need to leave the concert with your ears bleeding to enjoy the show.

Comments are closed.

